Hughes and Cheltenham Saracens duo nominated in End of Season Awards


Brimscombe & Thrupp striker Jack Hughes and Cheltenham Saracens duo Oakley James and Jamie Goodwin have been shortlisted in the End of Season Awards.

Every year Severn Sport looks to recognise all of those players, managers, clubs and individuals who make grassroots football in Gloucestershire special!

Yesterday we announced that Painswick, their striker Dave Creed and Whaddon United had been shortlisted in the End of Season Awards.

Hughes and Goodwin are both up for Signing of the Season, with Hughes moving to the Meadow from GNSL Champions, Chalford, and Goodwin moving to Sarries from Moreton Rangers.

Both finished top scorer for their sides during challenging 2023/24 seasons.

James has been nominated for Breakthrough Player of the Season after making the step up into the First Team and making 39 appearances this season.

Below are the 15 categories and who has been nominated so far:

Signing of the SeasonKarnell Chambers (Tuffley Rovers), George Neill (Slimbridge); Mel Hoad (Longlevens Ladies); Leah Whiffen (AEK Boco Ladies); Josh Roney (Hartpury University); Harry Emmett (Gloucester City); Jay Griffiths (Bibury); Blaine Waugh (Cinderford Town); Ben Vine (Cinderford Town); Jack Hughes (Brimscombe & Thrupp); Jamie Goodwin (Cheltenham Saracens)
Game of the Season
Manager of the SeasonMatthew Driscoll (Cinderford Town); Dan Ray & Karen Messenger (Cirencester Town Ladies); Neil Mustoe (Tuffley Rovers); Abi Nicholas (AEK Boco Ladies); Martin Longworth (Hartpury University); Dan Gough (Fairford Town Reserves); Ben Powell & Ben Newman (Chalford); Jamie Martin (Brockworth Albion); Ian Logan-Giles (English Bicknor); Gary Mabbett (Abbeymead Rovers)
Team of the SeasonAvonmouth; Cirencester Town Ladies; Longlevens Ladies: AEK Boco Ladies; Hartpury University; Rising Stars; Fairford Town Reserves; Brockworth Albion; Painswick; Whaddon United; Cinderford Town
Breakthrough Player of the SeasonConnor Walters (Tuffley Rovers), Erin Read (AEK Boco Ladies); Toby Holland (Bishops Cleeve); Callum McGuirk (Tuffley Rovers); Jack Smith (Slimbridge); Harry Burns (Cirencester Town); Harry Emmett (Gloucester City); Jay Griffiths (Bibury); Josh Jones (Cinderford Town); Oakley James (Cheltenham Saracens)
Severn Sport Live Player of the Season
Match Official of the Season Ian Butler
Kinetic Goalkeeping Goalkeeper of the Season
Stephen Sarkodie (Hartpury University); Lewis Clayton (Bishops Cleeve); Leah Whiffen (AEK Boco Ladies); Ashli Whitbury (Gloucester City Women); Ellis Parker (Slimbridge); Georgina Macey (Dursley Town Ladies); Natasha Hibbert (SGS Olveston United Women); Adam Fenner (Tredworth Tigers); Adam Thomas (Chalford); Billy Thomas (Shortwood United/Tuffley Rovers)
John Ashplant Local Hero Award
Best Social Media Account@SWSportsNews
Jamie Hyett Award (U18s Player of the Season)
Alex Knight (Longlevens U18s), Erin Read (AEK Boco Ladies); Scarlett Boyce (Cirencester Town Ladies); Riley McGregor (Hartpury University); Liberty Ross (Gloucester City Women); Will Tainton (Slimbridge U18s); Haydn Evans (Dursley Town U18s)
Severn Sport Future Star
Men’s Player of the Season – Ethan Dunbar (Bishops Cleeve); George Neill (Slimbridge); Toby Holland (Bishops Cleeve); Karnell Chambers (Tuffley Rovers); King Baidoo (Hartpury University); Ben Baxter (Hartpury University); Rudi McKinnon (Slimbridge); Fin Byrnes (Shortwood United); Craig Norman (Cinderford Town); Lee Smith (Tredworth Tigers)
Women’s Player of the SeasonJess Titcomb (AEK Boco Ladies); Jodie Bailey (Cirencester Town Ladies); Lucy Scrannage (Cirencester Town Ladies), Libby Messenger (Cirencester Town Ladies); Lorraine Smith (Longlevens Ladies); Olivia Kosylowicz (Longlevens Ladies); Aimee Clark (AEK Boco Ladies); Zoe Gabb (Gloucester City Women Devs); Leonie Gough (Bishops Cleeve Ladies); Leah Rhodes (Cheltenham Saracens Women)
Grassroots Player of the Season – Meg Sterry (Gloucester City Women Development); Lucy Dannatt (Longlevens Ladies); Millie Lacey (AEK Boco Ladies); Mirry Smith (Gloucester City Women Development); Kate Ambrey (Gloucester City Women); Ubaid Saleh (Rising Stars); Sanchez Grange (Boss FC); Andy Maryon (Chalford); Dave Creed (Painswick); Jay Griffiths (Bibury)

Visit for your financial planning needs

Speaking about the latest nominees to come completely from the public nominations, Butler had this to say:

“By my own admission, I don’t watch Cheltenham Saracens play often enough, so I know very little about Jamie and Oakley.

However, I know from speaking to others that they are vital parts of the Sarries squad and have played their part in a challenging season for them.

Saracens have been building for the future on and off the pitch and by having players like Oakley and Jamie, who are performing as consistently as they have been, only bodes well for next season and beyond.

When Jack moved to Brimscombe, it came with one of the most difficult things a player can deal with, expectation!

Scoring 50 odd goals for Chalford wasn’t going to be replicated for Brimscombe, if it did then my word, Hughesy should be going on to play for Gloucester City.

Let’s be real. Brimscombe had a mess of a season. They lost players to injuries and transfers and had fixture pile-ups, Manager Sam Prior’s departure being announced and they never really had a chance to build any momentum.

Hughesy had to be the main man during part of the season, with Harlie Price injured and George Peare departing and to score 13 goals and be his side’s top scorer is still a fantastic achievement.

In a world where everyone lives for negativity, some will see he is nominated and scoff, but not for me, I wasn’t surprised to see just how many people showed their support for him and his shortlisting is very much deserved.

Also, apologies to Oakley and Jamie, but I couldn’t find a picture of them for the cover photo!”

Check back tomorrow morning when we will be announcing the next batch of nominees in this year’s End of Season Awards!

Cover photo taken by and copyright to Brian Rossiter. Check out his Flickr account for all of his pictures by clicking here

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *