Painswick, their striker Dave Creed and Whaddon United have been shortlisted in the End of Season Awards.

Every year Severn Sport looks to recognise all of those players, managers, clubs and individuals who make grassroots football in Gloucestershire special!

Yesterday we announced that Brockworth Albion, their manager Jamie Martin, English Bicknor boss Ian Logan-Giles and Abbeymead Rovers manager Gary Mabbett had been nominated for awards.

Stroud League winners, Painswick, look set to join the GNSL next season after romping to the Division One title and despite being beaten on penalties in the Stroud League Cup final at Shortwood United, have been an impressive side all season long – they have been nominated for Team of the Season.

One of the most impressive players in the team has been Dave Creed, who scored 34 goals in 26 appearances for Painswick and will certainly be a handful next campaign. Creed is up for Grassroots Player of the Season.

Also nominated for Team of the Season are GNSL Division Two winners, Whaddon United. They look set to make Division One even tougher next season and are continuing to go from strength to strength.

Below are the 15 categories and who has been nominated so far:

Signing of the SeasonKarnell Chambers (Tuffley Rovers), George Neill (Slimbridge); Mel Hoad (Longlevens Ladies); Leah Whiffen (AEK Boco Ladies); Josh Roney (Hartpury University); Harry Emmett (Gloucester City); Jay Griffiths (Bibury); Blaine Waugh (Cinderford Town); Ben Vine (Cinderford Town)
Game of the Season
Manager of the SeasonMatthew Driscoll (Cinderford Town); Dan Ray & Karen Messenger (Cirencester Town Ladies); Neil Mustoe (Tuffley Rovers); Abi Nicholas (AEK Boco Ladies); Martin Longworth (Hartpury University); Dan Gough (Fairford Town Reserves); Ben Powell & Ben Newman (Chalford); Jamie Martin (Brockworth Albion); Ian Logan-Giles (English Bicknor); Gary Mabbett (Abbeymead Rovers)
Team of the SeasonAvonmouth; Cirencester Town Ladies; Longlevens Ladies: AEK Boco Ladies; Hartpury University; Rising Stars; Fairford Town Reserves; Brockworth Albion; Painswick; Whaddon United
Breakthrough Player of the SeasonConnor Walters (Tuffley Rovers), Erin Read (AEK Boco Ladies); Toby Holland (Bishops Cleeve); Callum McGuirk (Tuffley Rovers); Jack Smith (Slimbridge); Harry Burns (Cirencester Town); Harry Emmett (Gloucester City); Jay Griffiths (Bibury); Josh Jones (Cinderford Town)
Severn Sport Live Player of the Season
Match Official of the Season
Ian Butler
Kinetic Goalkeeping Goalkeeper of the Season
Stephen Sarkodie (Hartpury University); Lewis Clayton (Bishops Cleeve); Leah Whiffen (AEK Boco Ladies); Ashli Whitbury (Gloucester City Women); Ellis Parker (Slimbridge); Georgina Macey (Dursley Town Ladies); Natasha Hibbert (SGS Olveston United Women); Adam Fenner (Tredworth Tigers); Adam Thomas (Chalford); Billy Thomas (Shortwood United/Tuffley Rovers)
John Ashplant Local Hero Award
Best Social Media Account@SWSportsNews
Jamie Hyett Award (U18s Player of the Season)
Alex Knight (Longlevens U18s), Erin Read (AEK Boco Ladies); Scarlett Boyce (Cirencester Town Ladies); Riley McGregor (Hartpury University); Liberty Ross (Gloucester City Women); Will Tainton (Slimbridge U18s); Haydn Evans (Dursley Town U18s)
Severn Sport Future Star
Men’s Player of the Season – Ethan Dunbar (Bishops Cleeve); George Neill (Slimbridge); Toby Holland (Bishops Cleeve); Karnell Chambers (Tuffley Rovers); King Baidoo (Hartpury University); Ben Baxter (Hartpury University); Rudi McKinnon (Slimbridge); Fin Byrnes (Shortwood United); Craig Norman (Cinderford Town); Lee Smith (Tredworth Tigers)
Women’s Player of the SeasonJess Titcomb (AEK Boco Ladies); Jodie Bailey (Cirencester Town Ladies); Lucy Scrannage (Cirencester Town Ladies), Libby Messenger (Cirencester Town Ladies); Lorraine Smith (Longlevens Ladies); Olivia Kosylowicz (Longlevens Ladies); Aimee Clark (AEK Boco Ladies); Zoe Gabb (Gloucester City Women Devs); Leonie Gough (Bishops Cleeve Ladies); Leah Rhodes (Cheltenham Saracens Women)
Grassroots Player of the Season – Meg Sterry (Gloucester City Women Development); Lucy Dannatt (Longlevens Ladies); Millie Lacey (AEK Boco Ladies); Mirry Smith (Gloucester City Women Development); Kate Ambrey (Gloucester City Women); Ubaid Saleh (Rising Stars); Sanchez Grange (Boss FC); Andy Maryon (Chalford); Dave Creed (Painswick); Jay Griffiths (Bibury)

Visit for your financial planning needs

Speaking about the latest nominees to come completely from the public nominations, Butler had this to say:

“It is almost fitting that these two sides have been announced on the same day – as they have both had great title runs this season.

Neither will be looking to make up the numbers in their respective leagues next season and will continue to build on great seasons.

I must have caught Painswick on a rare off day in the Stroud League cup final, as they didn’t look like the all conquering side I had heard so much about leading up to it. But their record speaks for itself.

Dave Creed cut a frustrated figure, but again, his stats and the nominations speak for itself!

With Whaddon, I always believed they would win promotion this season and after tipping them to win the league in the Big Season Preview, I was pleased to see that come to fruition.

Check back tomorrow morning when we will be announcing the next batch of nominees in this year’s End of Season Awards!

Cover photo of Painswick taken by and copyright to Brian Rossiter. Check out his Flickr account for all of his pictures by clicking here

Cover photo of Whaddon United taken by with copyright to Andrew Jackson and Tiger Sports Photography. Click here to visit their Facebook page

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *