Smith, Fenner and Grange latest names to make shortlist in End of Season Awards


Tredworth Tigers duo Lee Smith and Adam Fenner, plus Boss FC’s Sanchez Grange are the latest players to be shortlisted in the End of Season Awards.

Every year Severn Sport looks to recognise all of those players, managers, clubs and individuals who make grassroots football in Gloucestershire special!

Yesterday we announced that Dursley Town Ladies keeper Georgina Macey, SGS Olveston United Women keeper Natasha Hibbert, Bishops Cleeve Ladies’ Leonie Gough and Cheltenham Saracens Women’s Leah Rhodes had been shortlisted.

Tredworth’s Player/Co-Manager, Smith, has been nominated for the Men’s Player of the Season after scoring 35 times to finish top scorer in GNSL Division One – playing a key role in his side’s title push for most of the season.

Another player who played a key role was Fenner, who made 31 appearances during a season of nearlys for Tredworth. Fenner has been nominated for the Kinetic Goalkeeping Goalkeeper of the Season after a number of high quality performances.

Boss FC forward Sanchez Grange has been shortlisted in the Grassroots Player of the Season category after playing his part for Boss in a solid season for the Stroud League side.

Below are the 15 categories and who has been nominated so far:

Signing of the SeasonKarnell Chambers (Tuffley Rovers), George Neill (Slimbridge); Mel Hoad (Longlevens Ladies); Leah Whiffen (AEK Boco Ladies); Josh Roney (Hartpury University); Harry Emmett (Gloucester City); Jay Griffiths (Bibury); Blaine Waugh (Cinderford Town); Ben Vine (Cinderford Town)
Game of the Season
Manager of the SeasonMatthew Driscoll (Cinderford Town); Dan Ray & Karen Messenger (Cirencester Town Ladies); Neil Mustoe (Tuffley Rovers); Abi Nicholas (AEK Boco Ladies); Martin Longworth (Hartpury University); Dan Gough (Fairford Town Reserves)
Team of the SeasonAvonmouth; Cirencester Town Ladies; Longlevens Ladies: AEK Boco Ladies; Hartpury University; Rising Stars; Fairford Town Reserves
Breakthrough Player of the Season
Connor Walters (Tuffley Rovers), Erin Read (AEK Boco Ladies); Toby Holland (Bishops Cleeve); Callum McGuirk (Tuffley Rovers); Jack Smith (Slimbridge); Harry Burns (Cirencester Town); Harry Emmett (Gloucester City); Jay Griffiths (Bibury); Josh Jones (Cinderford Town)
Severn Sport Live Player of the Season
Match Official of the Season
Ian Butler
Kinetic Goalkeeping Goalkeeper of the Season
Stephen Sarkodie (Hartpury University); Lewis Clayton (Bishops Cleeve); Leah Whiffen (AEK Boco Ladies); Ashli Whitbury (Gloucester City Women); Ellis Parker (Slimbridge); Georgina Macey (Dursley Town Ladies); Natasha Hibbert (SGS Olveston United Women); Adam Fenner (Tredworth Tigers)
John Ashplant Local Hero Award
Best Social Media Account@SWSportsNews
Jamie Hyett Award (U18s Player of the Season)
Alex Knight (Longlevens U18s), Erin Read (AEK Boco Ladies); Scarlett Boyce (Cirencester Town Ladies); Riley McGregor (Hartpury University); Liberty Ross (Gloucester City Women); Will Tainton (Slimbridge U18s); Haydn Evans (Dursley Town U18s)
Severn Sport Future Star
Men’s Player of the Season – Ethan Dunbar (Bishops Cleeve); George Neill (Slimbridge); Toby Holland (Bishops Cleeve); Karnell Chambers (Tuffley Rovers); King Baidoo (Hartpury University); Ben Baxter (Hartpury University); Rudi McKinnon (Slimbridge); Fin Byrnes (Shortwood United); Craig Norman (Cinderford Town); Lee Smith (Tredworth Tigers)
Women’s Player of the SeasonJess Titcomb (AEK Boco Ladies); Jodie Bailey (Cirencester Town Ladies); Lucy Scrannage (Cirencester Town Ladies), Libby Messenger (Cirencester Town Ladies); Lorraine Smith (Longlevens Ladies); Olivia Kosylowicz (Longlevens Ladies); Aimee Clark (AEK Boco Ladies); Zoe Gabb (Gloucester City Women Devs); Leonie Gough (Bishops Cleeve Ladies); Leah Rhodes (Cheltenham Saracens Women)
Grassroots Player of the Season – Meg Sterry (Gloucester City Women Development); Lucy Dannatt (Longlevens Ladies); Millie Lacey (AEK Boco Ladies); Mirry Smith (Gloucester City Women Development); Kate Ambrey (Gloucester City Women); Ubaid Saleh (Rising Stars); Sanchez Grange (Boss FC)

Visit for your financial planning needs

Speaking about the latest nominees to come completely from the public nominations, Butler had this to say:

“These three players are all very popular and well known figures in local football and all three have built reputations for their quality on the pitch.

Smith will divide opinions because that is who he is, but for him to score 35 goals in one of the most competitive GNSL Div One seasons we have seen is eye-catching. He took Tredworth very close to league and cup success, but the feeling is they won’t be waiting too much longer for it though!

Fenner is one of those brought into Tredworth to help provide quality from the back and he is a key member of that spine. Regarded as one of the better keepers in the league, he was always going to get nominations here.

Sanchez is an absolute legend of a bloke. He is the one player the neutrals and local football fans would love to remain injury free for most of the season. He is a clinical finisher, lovely guy and he gives 100% every single time he steps on the pitch. I wasn’t shocked at all to see him receive so many nominations for this new award.”

Check back tomorrow morning when we will be announcing the next batch of nominees in this year’s End of Season Awards!

Cover photos taken by and copyright to Brian Rossiter. Check out his Flickr account for all of his pictures by clicking here

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *