Hellenic League constitution announced as Bishop’s Cleeve join local teams in Premier Division

This afternoon the Football Association have announced the clubs allocation for Step 5 & 6 ahead of the 2018/19 season.

Bishop’s Cleeve, who were relegated from the Southern League West despite a brave battle towards the end of the campaign, will join local sides Longlevens, Brimscombe and Thrupp, Tuffley Rovers and Lydney Town in the Hellenic Premier Division.

There is cause for optimism at Kayte Lane, however, as the last time Cleeve were in this division 12 years ago they gained promotion as runners up to Didcot Town, scoring 108 times on their way into Step 4.

Also staying in the Premier Division will be Jody Bevan’s Fairford Town. There were some concerns that the Cinder Lane side would not retain their status in the Hellenic Premier but they will be playing Step 5 football next season.

Meanwhile, Shortwood United will play their first season since resigning from the Southern League West at Step 5 in the Western Premier Division.